what are the different grades of coal

Best answer

The four ranks are:Anthracite: The highest rank of coal. …Bituminous: Bituminous coal is a middle rank coal between subbituminous and anthracite. …Subbituminous: Subbituminous coal is black in color and is mainly dull (not shiny). …Lignite: Lignite coal,aka brown coal,is the lowest grade coal with the least concentration of carbon. …

People also ask

  • How many types of coal are there?

  • There are four major types (or 鈥渞anks鈥? of coal. Rank refers to steps in a slow, natural process called 鈥渃oalification,鈥?during which buried plant matter changes into an ever denser, drier, more carbon-rich, and harder material. The four ranks are: Anthracite: The highest rank of coal.

  • What is the difference between high rank coal and low rank coal?

  • These low rank coals have lower ash content and higher reactivity than in comparison to high rank coals. Bituminous Coal 鈥?This coal is dark and hard. This coal is formed when a sub bituminous coal undergoes a higher level of organic metamorphism.

  • What are the characteristics of coal?

  • All types of coal contain fixed carbon, which provides stored energy and varying amounts of moisture, ash, volatile matter, mercury, and sulfur.

  • What are the different ranks of Co-coal?

  • Coal is classified in ranks based on different stages of its formation from peat to coal. These ranks are 鈥?Lignite or Brown Coal 鈥?It is considered to be the coal of lowest rank as it is the youngest of all. It only contains nearly 25-35 percent of carbon.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *